Wk 4 – Artist Conversation – Carly Lake

Artist: Carly Lake

Exhibition: Closer

Media: Wood, clay, and yarn

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Dennis W. Dutzi Gallery

Website: carlylake.com

Instagram: Sea.lake

About the Artist: Carly is a senior and will be graduating at the end of the fall semester with her BFA in illustration and a minor in American Indian Studies.  She would like to get into an editorial program in the future and she is currently working on illustrations for a book with her friend Cindy.  Her minor has made her open minded and conscious of trying to represent more minorities.  She likes to show the beauty of all body types and not just people like her.  Carly has always been a very passionate and open minded person and her college experience has enhanced those qualities making her grow both as an artist and a person.

Formal Analysis:  This exhibition was actually a collaboration between Carly and May Ta.  However, I only had the chance to speak with Carly so I will be focusing on her work.  In their statement it said, “Ultimately, our collaboration is investigating the existence of a balance between intimacy with others and intimacy with ourselves.”  The Closer appeared to be someone’s room and home that we were all walking in on.  There was a twin bed with a blanket made up of what appeared to be pages from a diary and next to the bed there were frames with paintings in them that made you feel like you were looking into someone else’s home.  In the center of the room an easel was set up with a chair and a desk as if someone had recently been working.  There were then various pieces of paintings, drawings, and sculptures on the wall.

Content Analysis:  From speaking with Carly and looking around the exhibit you could really see that she would like other people to be more aware of their surroundings and see how everything is connected. My favorite piece of hers was the Colonial yucca Mojave it was very different from the work she has done in the past. She mentioned that this was her first time working with clay and it came out splendidly.  I choose this piece because I remember learning about this plant in particular and I really liked all of the different colors she chose.  The idea of a colonial being and the color scheme made me think of people of different races, ethnicities, and backgrounds and how beautiful it would be if we could all live together in unison.  People have come a long way; however, we still have a long way to go as a whole.

Synthesis/My Experience:  I have known Carly since high school we were in the same art class together so when I walked into the room I knew exactly which pieces she worked on.  It was great to see how much she has grown as an artist. This work is slightly different from what she used to do in high school, but she still has the same style. I do not know what one word would describe it, but I will try to explain.  She is very good at making things look realistic; however there is always some unrealistic quality that makes you think about why she choose to put things together a certain way.  I really did feel like I was stepping into someone else’s home and I was not sure if I should be there.  It really made me think about what it means to have your own private space.  For most of my life I have had to share a room and currently I have my own room which has given me a new appreciation of privacy.  I think everyone needs a space where they can be alone and unwind every so often whether it is their room or somewhere in public where you will not be bothered like the beach.

carly-lake-flickr
Image of Carly from her Flickr account
colonial-yucca-mojave
Carly Lake, Colonial Yucca Mojave
bed-with-paper-blanket
Carly Lake, Untitled
windows
May Ta, The Windows
easal
Carly Lake and May Ta, Nightstand
work-station
Carly Lake and May Ta, Nightstand

 

Leave a Reply

