Wk 11- Artist Conversation -Kyle Kruse

Exhibit Information

Artist: Kyle Kruse

Exhibition: Janus Maxim

Media: Film, sculpture, wood, and sediment

Gallery: Marilyn Werby Gallery

Website: kylekruseart.com

Instagram: kyle.kruse

About the Artist

Kyle is in his last semester at CSULB in the Print Making BFA program.  This show was his senior project and took him 10 months to complete.  He was born from immigrants from Northern California and has never lived in the same place for more than a year except Long Beach.  He has lived in Long Beach for 6 years and plans to move when he finishes his undergraduate program.  He would either want to move to the U.K. and maybe get his BFA in visual anthropology or move to New York.

Formal Analysis

The room was completely dark with 3 screens each one continuously played its own video. On the opposite side of the room there were 3 drawings on the wall and in front of those drawings there were 3 sculptures. There was a mixed of fine sediment with some small rocks scattered throughout the gallery. The sediment made the floor a tad slippery if you were not careful and drag your feet.  The overall feel of the room was dark and creepy, but interesting.

Content Analysis

Kyle chose to use Greek mythology in his exhibition since most people in western civilization have at least some knowledge of the basic stories.  He sees his audience as everyone and wanted anyone who walked into the room to feel something about it even if it is just that it is creepy.  His last show focused on sensory sculpture and I could tell from the exhibit that he was going for the same feel.  I feel like he is using ideas that people are familiar with and using them to make some sort of connection.

Synthesis/My Experience

Like I mentioned before the room felt a bit creepy to me it reminded me a little of the show American horror story witches coven because that is the only one I have seen.  After talking with him a little I think I began to understand what he was trying to convey.  He mentioned Sisyphus and how he does the same task every day for eternity and I kind of saw that in the videos since it a continuous loop the people or person in the video is essentially completing the same task over and over again. He mentioned how wherever someone is in the world they general do not know what is going on in other parts of the world.  In my mind I was thinking well we have the internet so we could easily find news of what is going on elsewhere, but how many people actually utilized that.  I know that I definitely do not do that. I do not even watch the news for what is happening around me.  I know I should be aware of what is going on around me, but maybe that is what is wrong with society.  We should be aware what is happening in other places so that we could help if necessary.

20161102_13155720161102_131603

Leave a Reply

